You are here

Our People


bronte douglas



Professor Len Notaras AM

Executive Director

Professor Len Notaras AM is the Executive Director of the National Critical Care and Trauma Response Centre. He was a strategic founder of the NCCTRC and was appointed to the position in 2009.
Professor Notaras was previously Chief Executive of the NT Department of Health, the largest single employer in the Northern Territory from 2014 to 2016.

Read More »

bronte douglas

Associate Professor Dianne Stephens OAM MBBS FANZCA FCICM

Medical Director

A/Prof Dianne Stephens moved to Darwin in 1998 from Melbourne as the Director of Royal Darwin Hospital (RDH) Intensive Care Unit (ICU) and their first Intensive Care Specialist.
She developed the RDH ICU into a tertiary level ICU that is recognised as a highly effective training and research unit by the ICU community.

Read More »


bronte douglas




Acting Deputy Director

Bronte is currently Director of Nursing (Trauma & Disaster) at the National Critical Care Trauma Response Centre, providing clinical governance and oversight for in-reach Trauma Services at Royal Darwin Hospital, the NCCTRC Education & Training program, and the Australian Medical Assistance Team deployable Field Hospital capability.

Read More »


dr David Read

Director of Trauma

David Read is a General Surgeon and the Director of Trauma & Burns at the National Critical Care and Trauma Response Centre (NCCTRC) at the Royal Darwin Hospital. He has a very broad based surgical practice but has a particular interest in Trauma and Burns, Surgical Oncology and Paediatric Surgery.

Read More »

 Abigail Trewin Acting Director Disaster Preparedness



Abi began her Paramedic training in Yulara and Alice Springs after leaving a career in hotel management. She has worked across the Northern Territory including remote areas in the McArthur River district and supported the response to both Bali bombings and East Timor crisis.

Read More »